SWR Histoire

SilkWay
  • Gazprom
2009 – Kazan-Ashgabat 

Pour sa 1ère édition, le Silk Way Rally s’élance de Kazan au Tatarstan à destination d’Ashgabat au Turkmenistan. Au programme, 4500 km de course dont près de 3900 chronométrés, répartis sur 9 jours, qui voit l’Espagnol Carlos Sainz signer sa 1ere victoire international en Rallye-Raid. Une répétition parfaite pour « El Matador » qui, après 3 échecs, remportera dès janvier suivant son unique Rallye Dakar. En camion, l’épreuve voit la domination des Kamaz et consacre le double vainqueur russe du Dakar Firdaus Kabirov, dans ce qui sera sa dernière grande victoire internationale. 


2010 – Saint-Petersbourg - Sochi 

Suivant pour la 1ère fois un tracé Nord Sud, la 2e édition du Silk Way Rally restera dans les annales pour son départ de Saint-Petersbourg et le passage de la caravane devant le palais d’hiver de la « Venise du Nord », et son arrivée à Sochi, ville organisatrice des JO d’hiver 2014. Sportivement, ce sont 8 étapes pour un total de 4500 km dont 2014 chronométrés qu’affronteront les concurrents pour au final une 2e victoire consécutive de Carlos Sainz en autos, et la toute première sur la scène internationale du nouveau petit prodige de chez Kamaz, Eduard Nikolaev, tombeur de Gerard De Rooy et Alès Loprais.   


2011 – Moscou - Sochi 

1er départ de Moscou pour le Silk Way Rally qui connaît un nombre croissant d’engagés, pour la plus grande joie des milliers de Moscovites massées sur la place Rouge où se tient le podium de départ de l’épreuve. Devant leurs roues, 7 jours de course et 3983 km dont 2366 chronométrés. A la clé, la plus grande victoire en carrière du Polonais Krzysztof Holowczyc, qui s’impose juste devant le Maître de la discipline, Stéphane Peterhansel, tandis que, chez les camions, Alès Loprais prend sa revanche sur l’année précédente. 


2012 – Moscou - Gelendzhik 

Nouveau départ de la Place Rouge de Moscou pour le Silk Way Rally dont la caravane s’est encore renforcée. Au programme, un parcours totalement rénové de 4000km à destination de Sochi. Les intempéries qui s’abattent sur le sud de la Russie entraineront l’arrêt de la course à Maykop, et sacreront le 1er pilote russe au palmarès de l’épreuve, Boris Gadasin. En camion, Kamaz reprend la main grâce à un autre de ses jeunes prometteurs, Ayrat Mardeev, futur vainqueur du Dakar 2015 !


2013 – Moscou - Astrakan

Pour sa 5e édition, le Silk Way Rally confirme son installation durable dans le paysage des rallyes-raids internationaux  en s’élançant encore de Moscou. Direction la Volga et Astrakhan qui verra une autre figure du Rallye-Raid Mondial s’imposer au terme d’un parcours de 4000km dont 3000 en spéciales. Pour sa 2 participation consécutive, Jean-Louis Schlesser, double vainqueur du Dakar et sextuple lauréat de l’Africa Race, entre au palmarès de l’épreuve comme le premier pilote à y imposer un véhicule 2 roues motrices. En camion, Kamaz confirme le retour de sa mainmise avec cette fois Dmitry Sotnikov en vainqueur.

History

SilkWay
  • Gazprom
2009 – Kazan-Ashgabat  

Edition 1 of the Silk Way Rally set off from Kazan in Tatarstan and headed to Ashgabat in Turkmenistan. The nine-day, 4,500km rally featured 3,900kms of special stages. Carlos Sainz won his 1st international Rally-Raid. A perfect rehearsal for “El Matador” who the following January won the Dakar Rally in his 4th attempt. In the truck category, Kamaz dominated with two-time Dakar winner Firdaus Kabirov taking top honours in what was his last major international victory.    


2010 – Saint-Petersburg - Sochi 

Following the North-South route for the first time, edition 2 of the Silk Way Rally remains in the annals of motor racing history for its departure from Saint-Petersburg and the passage of the caravan in front of the winter palace of the “Venice of the North” and the finish in Sochi, which went on to host the 2014 winter Olympic Games. When the eight stages, measuring 4,500kms, with 2014kms of special stages were run and it was Carlos Sainz taking his second consecutive victory in the car category, while Kamaz protégé, Eduard Nikolaev defeated veterans Gerard De Rooy and Alès Loprais for his first international triumph. 


2011 – Moscow - Sochi 

First departure from Moscow for the Silk Way Rally, which saw its number of entries rise, to the delight of the thousands of Muscovites who came to Red Square for the ceremonial start. Ahead of the competitors, seven days of racing and 3983kms with 2366kms of special stages. After the week of hard fought action it was Poland’s Krzysztof Holowczyc scoring the biggest win of his career, ahead of the disciplines greatest pilot, Stéphane Peterhansel, while in the truck category, Alès Loprais got revenge from the previous year.


2012 – Moscow - Gelendzhik 

The start once again from Red Square for the Silk Way Rally, which the number of entries is on the rise. On the programme, a completely new 4,000km route to Sochi. Storms that battered southern Russian forced the race to stop at Maykop.  Boris Gadasin became the first Russian pilot to win in the car category, while Kamaz returned to its winning ways thanks to another of its young hopefuls, Ayrat Mardeev, the future winner of the 2015 Dakar!  

2013 – Moscow - Astrakan

For edition 5, the Silk Way Rally solidified its place in the landscape of international rally-raids and was back in Moscow for the start from Red Square. The rally headed towards the Volga and Astrakhan that greeted another rally-raid superstar who won at the end of a 4,000km route, which included 3,000kms of special stages. In his second participation, two-time Dakar winner and six-time victor on the Africa Race, Jean-Louis Schlesser entered the Silk Way Rally record books becoming the first pilot to win with a two-wheel drive vehicle. Kamaz stamped its authority in the truck category with Dimitry Sotnikov taking the victory.